Zoom Tip: how to hide those pesky grey boxes during screen sharing.

Have you ever been in a Zoom meeting while someone is sharing their screen and grey boxes began showing up at random, covering parts of what’s being shared?

I have. And it’s annoying. I actually see it from both sides when I share my screen because I often run multiple computers during Zoom meetings: I run the meeting on my two monitor desktop, I share PowerPoint slideshows from my laptop and I sometimes join on my tablet as well, so I see the grey boxes on my desktop and tablet AND I see the actual messages behind the boxes on my laptop.

I haven’t wanted to derail an entire session and make people wait while I searched for the setting, and truth be told, I use GoToMeeting more often, so I kept forgetting about Zoom’s grey box problem after the sessions were over. Today, I finally took the time to troubleshoot. I had to try a number of search strings before I finally tracked down the issue because I didn’t know exactly what setting I was looking for. Search strings referencing “Zoom notifications” didn’t lead me to the answer. These messages weren’t really notifications. Of the multiple messages I kept seeing on my laptop, the one I saw the most actually read:

“You are sharing your screen.”

Thank you Zoom, for letting me know that. 🙄

I’ll cut to the chase. The messages are “meeting controls” and here’s how to turn them OFF during your Zoom sessions and make the grey boxes stop Zoom bombing your meetings:
(click to zoom in…no pun intended)

How to check laserjet ink levels in Windows 10

Step 1: Click in the search bar at the bottom left corner of your monitor to begin a search.

Step 2: Begin typing the word “printers” and the system settings for “Printers & Scanners” should appear as an option at the top of the list.

Step 3: Locate your printer in the list. In my case, it’s a Canon Pro9000.

Step 4: Click on your printer name to display the menu and select “Manage”

Step 5: Select “Printer properties”

Step 6: The “Properties” dialog box will display with the “General” tab active. Click the “Maintenance” tab.

Step 7: Select “View Printer Status…”

Step 8: A visual estimate of ink levels will display. Click “Ink Details” to display the name and number of the needed cartridge(s).

break free from social media control

I’m learning how to break free at HumaneTech.com/take-control

“machine learning is an extremely powerful weapon…millions of clusters of supercomputers running machine learning algorithms targeting each individual person figuring out the best way to keep these individuals absolutely addicted and obsessed with giving up all of their attention and time to these social media networks.” I’m learning how to break free at HumaneTech.com/take-control
(quote source: youtube.com/c/TechLeadShow)

How to Change the Default Time Zone in GoToMeeting

If you have a subscription to GoToMeeting, you already know you can change the timezone for an individual meeting, but if you’re like me, you’d rather change the time zone for EVERY meeting automatically.

After digging through all the options under Settings, I came up empty and searched the net, but only found instructions to change the zone for individual meetings. The main support page also stated: “…please note that the meeting invitation text will display the date/time in your computer’s timezone, not the one selected in the Schedule window.”

Not true for me. When I copy/pasted the invite into an email, the time zone was PDT and my computer knows I live in EDT.

I knew there had to be a default setting somewhere. Found it in an unexpected place – under my “LogMeIn” personal information. Below are screen shots and instructions to change YOUR GoToMeeting default time zone in three easy steps:

Step 1: Click the drop-down arrow next to your profile photo, then select “My profile.”

Step 2: On the “Personal Info” tab, click the drop-down arrow under “Time zone” and scroll to your zone to select it.

Step 3: Click “SAVE”

All future meetings will be automatically set to your new default time zone.

prevent your time and attention from being manipulated and sold.

“75% of screen content is viewed for less than 1 minute, according to a study that tracked computer multitasking across the course of 1 day. Results indicate that most people switched between different content every 19 seconds. Biological analysis demonstrated that participants experienced a neurological “high” whenever they switched — explaining why we feel driven to keep switching and underscoring how human biology makes us vulnerable to being manipulating by attention-extractive economies.” ledger.humanetech.com

“Machine learning algorithms have access to hundreds or thousands of data points about you. They know everything about you, all of your interests and exactly what buttons to press on you in order to get you to watch another video to read another article or post.”
(quote source: youtube.com/c/TechLeadShow)

I’m learning how to break free at HumaneTech.com/take-control

How to Comment on LinkedIn as Yourself Instead of Your Company Page

If you manage a company page on LinkedIn, you may notice when commenting on a post, LinkedIn sometimes defaults to display your company name rather than you as an individual.

On the flip side, there may be times when the default is set to identify you as an individual, but you would prefer to comment on a post as your business page.

Here’s a quick infographic to show you exactly how to post as either yourself or your company.

And here’s some text you might want to copy rather than type out as you follow the instructions:

/?actorCompanyId=

How to Stop MS Word from Auto Numbering and Bulleting

For a printable PDF version, CLICK HERE

How to Untag Yourself in a Facebook Comment.

If for some reason, the infographic doesn’t display, here’s the text-based instructions to untag yourself from a Facebook comment in a web browser:

Step 1. Hover to the right of the comment in which you are tagged to display an ellipsis and then click it, which will display a pop-up menu.

Step 2. Click “Give feedback or report this comment” from the pop-up menu. (older versions may read: “Find Support or Report Comment”)

Step 3. Click “Spam” from the options in the next pop-up menu that is displayed.

Step 4. Click “Next”

Step 5. Click “Remove tag” in the next pop-up menu that is displayed.
(older versions may read: “Untag Yourself From This Comment”)

Step 6. Click “Done”

Step 7. The comment will be hidden, but only from you. If you would like to unhide it, click the ellipsis that appears where the comment used to be.

Step 8. Click “Unhide” when the greyed out comment appears.

How to Endorse Someone on LinkedIn in 3 Easy Steps

1. Visit a LinkedIn Profile.
2. Scroll Down to Skills & Endorsements.
3. Click or tap the plus sign next to any skill listed to endorse someone for that particular skill.

%d bloggers like this: